Topic 4

Topic 4: Reflections :D

A summary of Topic 4:

The individual interpretation that was required in Topic 4 meant that everyone took a very different approach which was stimulating to read. In my own work, I have seen a great improvement from Topic 1 where I literally regurgitated White (2011)’s findings on digital natives and residents; to now where I have made my own inferences about ethicality within business social media use.

The reason why I chose business as an institution was because I immediately thought of many ways in which businesses ignore morality online and felt confident to discuss this. Following the guidance of Sarah Hewitt; my post began with a definition of Ethics to standardise privacy as an ethical issue, this also aided in bringing clarity.

Picture1
Figure 1. Displays Sarah Hewitt’s tweet on Topic 4

What have I learned from others?

As aforementioned, ethical issues from social media use in education did not come easily to mind. Fortunately reading my colleagues posts gave me an opportunity to learn more about this. Additionally, reading alternative perspectives on business social media use also presented learning opportunities.

Screen Shot 2017-04-17 at 09.09.43.png
Figure 2. Illustrates key points that I have learned from my colleagues blogs

Strengths 

Furthermore, this week my post displayed many aspects of progression and improvement. This was exemplified through my remaining on topic; I choose business as an institution and much of the content related to this. Subsequently, a clear structure was followed with subheadings, small paragraphs and hyperlinks to make the text flow harmoniously. Additionally, a good use of supporting tools was used including infographics, videos and G Slides to accompany the text, exploit the word count and to provide a visual representation of the written content. Following this, I skillfully merged the colour scheme and the topic of cookies together in the infographic to increase semantic encoding. Lastly, I aimed to make my text evaluative and analytical by considering the pros and cons of business social media use.

Weaknesses 

On the other hand, a weakness that is prevalent in my post is that it is not always clear how the concepts presented relate to my main argument. For example, the section on celebrities is not well-defined which may make it difficult to understand how this corresponds to ethicality within business social media use. However, the point that I was trying to make here is that businesses exploit the fact that social media consumers are ill-informed on how to use show media appropriately (i.e. over-sharing). Thus, the example of Kim Kardashian was intended to separately demonstrate how over-sharing can lead to aversive consequences.

new-piktochart_21581742_f6eb04a241588a10c0edd4324bfaafb207a00684
Figure 3. Displays an infographic of my Topic 4 self-assessment

Overall, this week I am left a lot more informed about how the information that I post online may be used for purposes other than what I intended. Additionally, learning about social media ethical issues within businesses and education industries increases the necessity of modules like UOSM2008.

Here are the links to the comments that I posted:

Cherie  & Wil 

Word count: 299

References

Figure 1. Self-Produced on Piktochart

Figure 2. Print screened from http://www.twitter.com/s2Hewitt

Figure 3. Self-produced on Pixton

Featured image:http://www.nymgamer.com/?p=10476

Raziya Creates. (2017). Digital residents vs. Digital visitors: The official digital scale. [online] Available at: https://raziyacreates.wordpress.com/2017/02/04/tba/ [Accessed 13 Apr. 2017].

YouTube Video: Self Produced on Powtoon

Featured blogs:

https://ausafkhanblog.wordpress.com

https://cherieknightblog.wordpress.com

https://wilswonderfulweb.wordpress.com

https://wwjjbeh.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

